Accueil 01 – Appel à candidature – EN

Workshop Nikon –Patrick Chauvel Foundation

April 1st, 2016|

For the fourth year running, Nikon will be organising its workshop and this year it will have the exceptional pleasure of welcoming the provisional st [...]

Jean-Claude Guillebaud, President of the jury

April 1st, 2016|

A major figure in journalism will serve as President of the Jury for this 23rd edition. Born in 1944, Jean Claude Guillebaud is a journalist, writer a [...]

Nicolas Poincaré will present the Awards Ceremony

April 1st, 2016|

Nicolas Poincaré, winner of a prize at the 1996 Bayeux-Calvados Award for his report on the war in Chechnya, will be the next presenter of the Awards [...]

The Bayeux-Calvados Award receives active support from the Normandy Region

March 31st, 2016|

The Normandy Region, land of freedom, is delighted to join the town of Bayeux and the Calvados Department Council in supporting the 23rd edition of th [...]

2016 Visual

March 31st, 2016|

The 2016 visual is a photo from the 2015 winning report. This photograph taken by Heidi Levine from Sipa Press agency, was part of his report shot in [...]

All the news

Prize list 2015

Call for applications

The Bayeux-Calvados award for war correspondents rewards reports about a conflict situation or its impact on civilians, or news stories involving the defence of freedom and democracy. The report must have been made between 1 June 2015 and 31 May 2016. A €7,000 prize is awarded in each category.

The reports must be submitted to the following address by 6 June 2016:

Bayeux-Calvados Award for War Correspondents
Hôtel de Ville 19, rue laitière – BP 21215 – 14402 Bayeux Cedex

The categories of media represented are: radio – photography – television (short and long formats) – written press and Web Journalism (new since 2011)

*To be considered for the Web Journalism category, the multimedia report must have been published on the Internet or touchpad between 1 June 2015 and 31 May 2016.

– Ten prizes are awarded –

Seven trophies awarded by the international jury:

  • Written Press Trophy
    Prize awarded by the Calvados Department Council – €7000
  • Television Trophy
    Prize awarded by Amnesty International – €7000
  • Radio Trophy
    Prize awarded by the D-Day Landing Committee – €7000
  • Photo Trophy
    Prize awarded by Nikon – €7000
  • Grand format Television Trophy
    – €7000

  • Web Journalism Trophy
    Prize awarded by Nikon – €7000
  • Young reporter Prize
    Sponsored by CAPA agency – €3000

Three special prizes:

  • The Ouest-France– Jean Marin (written press)
    – €4000
  • The Public Prize (photo)
    Sponsored by the Agence Française de Développement – €3000
  • The Normandy Region secondary School Students’ Prize (television)
    – €3000