Bayeux-Calvados Award of war correspondents –

— Hide menu

Bayeux-Calvados Award of war correspondents

22th edition : from 5 to 11 october 2015

The next edition will takes place from 5 to 11 october 2015. Next call for candidates will open in april

Ten Prizes will be awarded

Seven trophies awarded by the international jury: Written press Trophy – Prize awarded by the Calvados General Council – €7,000 Television Trophy – Prize awarded by the Lower Normandy Region – €7,000 Radio Trophy – Prize awarded by the D-Day Landing Committee – €7,000 Photo Trophy – Prize awarded by Nikon – €7,000 Grand format television Trophy – Prize awarded by the […]


For over 20 years, the town of Bayeux, in association with the Calvados General Council, has been hosting this event with the intention of paying tribute to journalists who work in hazardous conditions to provide us with information. Every year, the news and the targeting of reporters and their teams around the world bear out […]

A Memorial for reporters

« One may only taste freedom when others around us are free » – Simone de Beauvoir To ensure that the names of the journalists killed in the line of duty are never forgotten, the City of Bayeux, in collaboration with Reporters without borders, is welcoming a Memorial entirely dedicated to reporters killed across the world since […]

Prize-winners of the Bayeux-Calvados award since 1994

1994 Magazine : Philipp von Recklinghausen STERN Photo : André Soloviev ASSOCIATED PRESS Daily press : Denis Arcand LA PRESSE Radio : Alan Little BBC Television : Elisabeth Burdot RTBF Special prize of the jury : Paul Marchand RADIO Canada 1995 Written press : Henri Guirchoun LE NOUVEL OBSERVATEUR Photo : Laurent Van der Stockt […]