1st edition

23 april 1994


Creation of the Bayeux Award for War Correspondents on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of D-Day. Only eight media outlets were invited to this one-day event reserved for journalists (one per Allied country + Germany).

1994 Jury Chair

Jean Marin, whose real name is Yves Morvan, is a French journalist and resistance fighter, born in Douarnenez on February 24, 1909 and died in Paris on June 3, 1995. He was notably the president of Agence France-Presse from 1954 to 1975; he is the only president to have served 21 years, or seven consecutive terms. He also participated in the birth of the daily Ouest-France in succession to L'Ouest-Éclair.

Awards ceremony

Hosted by Diane Galliot, journalist at Radio France International, and Thierry Geffrotin, journalist and director of Radio France Normandy-Caen.

Exhibition "Tony Vaccaro : the lived testimony of a combatant”

From Normandy’s beaches to Germany, Tony Vaccaro takes many pictures while fighting; this is not reportage but the lived testimony of a man who is also an exceptional photographer.

1994 Results


Philipp von Recklinghausen – STERN “70 days in hell” – BOSNIA


André Soloviev – ASSOCIATED PRESS “Sukhumi massacre“ – GEORGIA

Daily Press

Denis Arcand – LA PRESSE “ European hypocrisy“ – BOSNIA


Alan Little – BBC “Sarajevo“ – BOSNIA


Elisabeth Burdot – RTBF “Skandill road flowers“– NORTH IRELAND

Special Jury Prize

Paul Marchand – RADIO CANADA “The lovers of Sarajevo” – BOSNIA